My mom was a great cook and baker, but she could be a bit obsessive when she was trying out a new recipe.  When I was a kid, she went through a mooncake phase.   Mooncakes are Chinese pastries traditionally eaten during the Mid-Autumn festival in mid-August or early September.  If I remember my Chinese history lessons from childhood, mooncakes were used to pass along secret messages when the Mings were trying to overthrow the Yuans.

Right.  Mooncake phase.  Every night for a month, she fed us (and unsuspecting friends, neighbors and relatives) the results of her latest mooncake trial.  I still remember vividly the whack-whack-whack of the mooncake mold hitting the thickest book in our house as she tried to unmold the cakes.   Contrary to making me sick of mooncakes though, I love mooncakes! Especially the ones with crumbled egg yolks in the middle.  NOM!   So I was so thrilled to get this in the mail today –

contented sigh

contented sigh

I have the most awesome friends! That blank square in the corner?  Inhaled.

Also, an embarrassment of unexpected of treats!  Unfortunately inedible, but so wee and so cute!  Penny for reference.

we are wee with perfect details

we are wee with perfect details

Off to inhale some more mooncake.

