Since I last posted, I have been to Atlanta, where I spent the holidays with my cousin B. There was much laying about doing nothing, eating good food and trading of family news. There was also a trip to the High Museum to see the excellent Chinese Army terracotta warrior exhibit. It’s so strange to see these in the flesh – I still remember the 5th grade class where we talked about the Chin dynasty and the warriors buried in Xian. More pictures from that trip here.

comparing heights with the terra cotta warrior at High Museum

comparing heights with the terra cotta warrior at High Museum

On to the Bay Area, where there was much laying about doing nothing, eating good food (sensing a theme here?). There was an awesome camping trip to Point Reyes, where it is impossible to turn around and not encounter a breathtaking vista. More pictures of that trip here.

there were sea lions sunning themselves at the beach

there were sea lions sunning themselves at the beach

Then to Las Vegas for a work stuff, to present at a conference, and to visit my cousin B, who just had a baby! Unfortunately, there was none of laying about doing nothing, as the work part of the trip was exhausting. Whatever leftover time was spent trying not to snorgle and eat this –

nom nom nom!

nom nom nom!

Lately, there has been a surplus of “hurry up and wait” situations, so there has been knitting. I find that I prefer small projects that give me instant gratification. Hence, hats are made of win!

turn a square, take 2

turn a square, take 2

Pattern: Turn a Square hat by Jared Flood (rav link)
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran 330014 (dark purple) , 1 skein
Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino 340607 (purple), 2 skeins. US 6 and 7 DPNs

The first attempt of this hat was a big FAIL! The hat grew to sasquatch proportions after blocking. So to the frog pond it went. The second attempt turned out much better. This is a great pattern, and a good way to use up partial balls of yarn. I ended up using doubled baby cashmerino yarn with the aran weight yarn because I wanted to use up my lonely ball of Cashmerino Aran but couldn’t find a complimentary color that I liked in the same weight. The stripes did become a bit fiddly with the untangling of the yarn, but minor detail. This hat has already been gifted. I hope the recipient enjoys it as much as I enjoyed making it.

purple thorpe

purple thorpe

Pattern: Thorpe by Kristen Kapur (rav link)
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill Sockittome in Blues and Purples, 1 skein, yarn held double. US 8 DPNs
Trimmed with bits of Knitpicks Shine Worsted in Black

This is the first of many Thorpes, I think. I’m a big fan of earflap hats, as much for the dork factor as for the practical aspect of it. The doubled sock yarn made a nice, firm fabric. Since the hat is knit from the top down, it was very handy to be able to try on the hat as I went. I trimmed this hat in bright blue yarn initially, but I think the black trim is a better fit for the recipient.

