Back from a quick trip to San Francisco for more aikido goodness. I had a great time; it’s always a treat to train with Kato Sensei and other high level aikidoka. All that hitting and rolling and pounding is plenty exhilarating (and cathartic) even though I always come back from these trips with a bunch of bruises.

Apart from the aikido, there are some things that always seem to be constants when I make my way to the Bay Area –

A protest. I would expect no less as this was in front of an armed forces recruiting office. I sort of dig the orange jumpsuits.

street art in downtown Berkeley

having a good time with the Okester

the ugliest and cutest dog in the world

Something that’s out of the ordinary –

I started my first lace project! Hanami, out of some Knitpicks Alpaca Cloud that I had languishing in the stash. I’m only on the basketweave portion, but I’ve already figured out that I can’t do more than a few rows each time. All those yarnovers and ssk’s take a fair amount of concentration on my part, plus I’m not so used to reading knitting charts yet, so it’s a little slow going. Someone please tell me it’ll get easier 🙂

