The Sockapalooza socks are done! With time to spare before the deadline. My procrastinating self is dumbfounded.

sock pal socks

ooh purple

Pattern: Uptown boot socks from Favorite Socks
Yarn: Cherry Tree Hill supersock in Blues and Purples, size 2 DPNs.

The yarn was leftover from the Clap. My sock pal requested purple socks, and the Cherry Tree Hill yarn fit the bill nicely. It’s purple, but the blues and greens give it a depth and richness of color that I really liked. And it’s so soft. What’s not to love? I hope my sock pal agrees! The color is a bit harder to capture than my meager photographing and photoshopping skills allow, I apologize.

I ended up having to knit a third sock because I lost a sock. Could not find it. Who knows where I lost it. It’ll probably turn up after I mail the socks off to my sock pal. Fortunately, my sockpal has pretty petite feet, so there was enough yarn for another sock. At any rate, apart from that little debacle, this was a fun pattern. Looks deceptively complicated but is really an easy-to-remember 8 row repeat.

In other news, my cousin sent me this little snippet of jailhouse rock.

Apparently, this is how the prisoners at the Cebu Provincial jail in the Philippines spend their time. The skill with which they mimic the undead is pretty impressive. And oh, the irony of watching actual criminals, in prison, enact some kind of zombie prison rape. Heh. The inmates also have routines set to Queen’s “Radio Ga Ga” and Vanilla Ice’s “Ice Ice Baby”.

A little background – Filipinos are well known in Asia for their performance skills, particularly in music and dance. There are song and dance groups everywhere, including prison. I grew up in the Philippines, and once upon a time when I was in high school, we went to a medium security prison for a service project. We were supposed to teach the inmates to read and write. Mostly we just stood along the walls and tried not to be too intimidated. Anyway, on the last day of the program, the inmates prepared a variety show for us. Many prison dance groups performed, including one called Dangerous Moves.

