The continuing (mis)adventures of the International Crimefighter who travels with a Black Cloud. This time from Philadelphia, the city of brotherly luv.

brotherly luv

Don’t get me wrong. I had a great time in Philly! The highs definitely outweighed the lows. But the lows…ugh!

The highs –

  • quality time with Nana. She was in Philly attending a conference. She’s such a rockstar! It was fun being her groupie for the weekend.

nana

  • seeing the old historical sites around Philly. So many stories, if those walls could talk and all that. I must say that Philadelphia sure loves them some Benjamin Franklin. His likeness was everywhere. The building below was Franklin’s house, and the other one is Independence Hall.

old building too old building

  • the Mutter Museum. Walls and walls of medical oddities, and anatomical and pathological specimens. With exhibits such as the “Secret Tumor of Grover Cleveland”, the “Thorax of John Wilkes Booth,” and a super mega-giant colon. Anatomy geek heaven! There may have been squeeing. Ahem.

mutter

  • stash enhancement. Wandered into Loop. I’m so glad I did. The store was very cute, and the staff were friendly. Lots of really niiice yarn. Almost an entire wall of Koigu. What’s not to love? I got a couple of skeins of Koigu and a skein of geeyouknit sock yarn in Appliance.

yaaaaarn

The lows –

  • this whole traveling by air thing. The damage for this trip consisted of 1 missed flight (easy to do when you wake up at 7 a.m. for a 6:30 a.m. flight), 2 cancelled flights (1 falsely cancelled, the other one for real), and 2 flight delays.
  • the Philadelphia airport. Definitely not for the faint of heart. When there is a line with about a hundred people thronging the ticketing counter at 5 freaking a.m., you know things probably aren’t going to be good. Also what is the deal with having only four security checkpoint people to deal with gobs and gobs of people?! There was much grumpiness. There was snark. Not by me though. I was too busy hoping for a riot 🙂 Overheard at the ticket counter:

Mad, foaming at the mouth traveller (MFMT): I have been waiting for your acknowledgement for 45 minutes! My flight has been delayed and I’d like to see if I can get on this flight.

Harrassed ticket counter lady (HTCL): You have to pay 25 bucks to get on this flight if you’re not on the standby list. (I didn’t know about this rule!) I can’t help that the flight you were supposed to be on was delayed.

MFMT: WTF? I know the FAA rules! You people are thieves! (while slapping down his credit card)

HTCL: WELL. You don’t have to pay. I can tell the plane to leave without you! Step aside if you’re just going to complain.

  • getting gypped by the taxi cab driver on the way to Nana’s hotel. The dude charged me almost 50% more than the standard rate. The irony? Nana’s conference was on consumer affairs and consumer protection. Heh.

There may be more travel hijinks as I make my way to Las Vegas tomorrow.

