Ow. 

aiyah

That would be me a couple of days ago after my elbow (and butt) connected with the slushy, slippery sidewalks of Erie.   Melting snow + overnight super cold spell = sidewalks of death.   Don’t worry – the snazzy splint I’m wearing was just a precaution until people smarter than I figured out that my elbow wasn’t broken.  Which it isn’t.  Hallelujah!   So the elbow is still v.v. sore, but at least the splint is off, and the elbow isn’t broken. 

That aforementioned appointment with the sidewalk of death was sort of the culmination of a very cursed couple of weeks which featured, among others,  the fiery death of a treasured external hard drive (along with bunches of lectures that I had to recreate), the disappearance of my entire calendar from my PDA, my favorite necklace falling down the drain, and no water in my apartment for 2 days because the city saw fit to repair the sewer pipes running right in front of our apartment complex.  

Somewhere, there is a voodoo doll with my name on it. 

ANYWAY.  

On to happier things.   I got started on a new project –

wip

This is part of the back of Sesame.  Rowanspun Chunky in a tweedy black from the Great Yarn Swap of 2006.  I actually only got about 4 skeins from the swap, but when we were in Austin for our brush-with-greatness with the Yarn Harlot, I discovered another 4 skeins in the clearance bin of HCW.  Same dyelot.  I took that as a sign that I should give those skeins a good home.    I decided I needed a knock-around cardigan in black?  Because one can never have too many cardis in black.

The pattern uses DK weight yarn and the yarn I’m using is not.  So there was swatching (Gasp!), there was maths, there was head-scratching.  The maths may or may not work.  I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.  In the meantime though, I’m enjoying knitting with this yarn.  I’m liking the tweedy specks.  The pattern’s been pretty straightforward so far.  Perfect for vegging out in front of the TV after a busy day at work.     

