In an effort to outrun the cold, gloomy weather in these parts, I spent last week in San Francisco.   Turned out to be a pretty awesome trip. 

Thumbs up!

  • almost daily aikido classes – oh, aikido, how I’ve missed thee!  The Bay Area has one of the most, if not the most, active aikido communities, so it was really great to be able to take some classes with masterful senseis and practice with generous, kick-ass aikidoka.  Hopefully, I can make it out there again soon because Kato Sensei will be coming back to give some classes in a few months.
  • yummy, yummy food – I think I ate in Chinatown almost every opprtunity I had, much to my cousin’s chagrin.   I also toted a large boxful of Chinese groceries home 🙂   Don’t laugh.  I did it for my sanity.   Mmmmm…I still think of those noodles and egg tarts.   
  • chinatown

  • family gossip and amusement – I stayed with my cousin.  We weren’t really that close growing up, so it was nice to discover how much we had in common and how much we could talk about now that we’re older.  He has also, I discovered, proudly carried on the family packrat tendencies.  Observe his bathroom cabinets –
  • packrat

    Enough toiletries, samples and freebies to give away to a small army.  A lifetime supply of those little little bottles of smelly stuff that you get in hotels.  Disposable shower caps, eye masks, toothbrushes everywhere.  My cousin’s very well-traveled, but he admits he can’t resist the siren song of those little bottles.  My grandmother, who owned an entire dinner service for 8 courtesy of Japan Airlines (when the airlines still used real silverware), would be proud. 

  • cutest dog ever – Beanie is as lazy as Jean Paul Sartre’s eye, but so cute! 
  • beanie

  • hanging out with Okee – who always makes me laugh, but who can’t stop being a backseat driver long enough for me to drive his nice, shiny Prius 🙂   
  • There was knitting!  And yarn-y purchases!  Stay tuned.
  • haring

