3 – days spent in Boston attending conference.  Great travel debacle of 2007 nothwithstanding.

6 – hours spent waiting for delayed flight to take off from Erie before flight was finally cancelled because of icky snowstorm (ahhh…what else is new?).

10 – minutes to get from one end of the Detroit airport to the other in an attempt to fly standby to Boston because icky snowstorm made you miss connecting flight.  

absolute joy – feeling when nice ticket counter lady tells you that there is one seat left on flight to Boston and you, you lucky person you, can have it. 

stupendous – amount of food consumed during Chinese New Year dinner with Mike’s family.  His mom is an awesome chef! 

30 – minutes spent sitting in airplane on runway with engine running because – and this is an excuse I hadn’t heard before – the plane had to much fuel and the some fuel had to be used up before the plane could take off for Erie.

black cloud – my new nickname at work because of all the travel misfortunes (and other things) I seem to have no trouble attracting.

4 – times I’ve fallen on my ass because of ice, slush, snow, absence of coordination, general klutziness, etc.  (see black cloud)  Here’s my temporary solution –

snow tires

                                                     snow tires for your shoes2 – weeks spent knitting this –

sockies

  

detail

Pattern: Conwy socks from Nancy Bush’  Knitting on the Road
Yarn: Louet Gems Opal Crabapple Blossom, 2 1/2 50 g. skeins, size 2 DPNS 

This was an enjoyable project to knit.  Calf shaping is the shiznit!  Also, interesting stitch pattern on the leg.  Easy to memorize but not too boring.  For this project, I used the chart instead of the line-by-line instructions that I usually use.  I loved the yarn!  So soft with vibrant colors, shows off the stitch pattern very well.  I finished these just in time to wear in Boston, where they did a fine job keeping my feet warm. 

heat wave – what the good people of Erie are calling the temperatures this week, when it finally hit the 30’s. 

heat wave

