Behold, a finished project! For Maria, who’s having her baby soon.

baby cardi

Pattern: Classic Cardigan, Debbie Bliss Baby Cashmerino book
Yarn: Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino #605 Periwinkle for the main color – about 2 balls and change, and some leftover baby cashmerino in a super light gray color from Lisa M. for the trim. Size 3 and 4 Clover bamboo straights.

periwinkleThe color above is not a very good representation of the color. Blasted indoor lighting. This is probably a closer match. At the time I started knitting this, I didn’t know whether her baby was going to be a boy or girl, so I tried to pick a gender-neutral color.

Because my gauge wasn’t quite spot on, the finished cardigan ended up between a size 3-6 months and 6-9 months. baby cardi detailI also had to rip out the sleeve cap a couple of times because I couldn’t understand the instructions (entirely my problem and not the pattern’s). At any rate, I think the cardigan turned out pretty cute. With this project, I learned to knit a neckband and button band, and also to make buttonholes. I found some cute buttons at a fabric store in Rice Village.

Here’s the Mouse modeling the cardigan. His proportions are all wrong of course, but he was the only one willing to step up.

baby cardi

 

