That pretty much sums up aikido for me. Except that I find that I often have two left feet. Today was one of those days. I just wasn’t totally comfortable out on the mats. Sometimes I just need to relax and not think too much. Still, I learn something new each time, and my fellow aikidoists help keep my technique honest.

Today’s class was pretty rough and tumble for some reason. Here’s a standout from today’s lovely collection of bruises. I have no idea where I got this one from –

nasty bruise

It’s about 3 inches across and on the side of my thigh. Oh, and I have a little bit of a shiner on my right eye too (and again, I can’t remember how I got that too!), but I’ll spare you a picture of that. Ahh… so unladylike πŸ™‚ For me, aikido’s not about being powerful and throwing someone down on the mat (though that can look very cool sometimes), it’s more about learning control and balance. And so I keep practicing. And so I keep dancing.

In other news, the not-so-secret project, she grows – the color’s actually a much more vibrant purple, but I couldn’t get the lighting and the camera to cooperate.

not so secret project

