Kermit the FrogThis is Kermit the Frog. Allegedly, I learned to speak English while watching hours of Sesame Street and the Muppets. Among all the muppets, I liked Kermit the most. I think I called him “Kermity”, (as in, first name Kermity, last name Frog) for a long time before someone thought to correct me. So he holds a special place in my heart.

 

This is Kermit the Sweater. It’s made from some violent green silk noire yarn that I got from Amy at a super fun yarn swap that Staci organized a while back. I actually finished it a few months ago, but only got around to posting it. Ahh, the joys of procrastination. Kermit sweater1Kermit sweater2This is the first knitted garment I’ve made with sleeves. At some point, I thought the sleeve cap wouldn’t fit in the armscye. Huge sigh of relief when it did. The yarn shed like a bad skin disease while I was knitting it, but a good wash and blocking made it better. Kermit the sweater actually fits pretty well, although the fit around the shoulders could be a little bit looser. Overall, I think it turned out quite well.

Pattern: Cropped Top, Knit Simple Spring/Summer 2006
Yarn: violent green silk noire from Amy – I still have a lot of this yarn left. Size 8 Denise interchangeables.
Modifications: I shortened the sleeves by about 3 inches (the pattern was written as a long-sleeved top), lengthened the body by about 2 inches. I also made a 3 stitch I-cord closure tie instead of the crocheted one the pattern called for.

 

Kermit pezThis is Kermit the Pez dispenser. He sits on my desk at home, and feeds me nourishing candy whenever I want. Like, right now!

